One of my students forwarded me this post from Techrepublic so I thought I’d share it. I am currently teaching an Introduction To Linux course so I thought this might be relevant. Linux is coming increasingly popular in the consumer space. Many users are becoming disenchanted with Microsoft and are jumping on the Open Source bandwagon. Being an instructor at a Technical College, one of the things I try to do early on is introduce my students to different versions of Linux before they take the class, to decrease the learning curve. A lot students, once they get their first look at Linux, immediately want to download a distro and play with it. The mistake most newbies make is that they approach the install and configuration like they would a Windows install. Probably not the thing to do. The following is a list of common mistakes newcomers to the Linux platform make. I hope you find it useful. Link

